Coaching

Polish municipalities learn about methods and tools available for process design, stakeholder involvement and policy planning. The coaching serves as a major tool for targeted capacity building for the development and implementation of low-emission measures in municipalities. It applies an interactive pedagogical approach emphasising peer-to-peer exchange.

 

On 28 February and 1 March 2017, the 13 participating municipalities from Poland got the chance to discuss their planned or ongoing projects with experts from Poland and Germany. 

In five sessions, they exchanged both experience and knowledge on the following topics:

Tackling air pollution

adelphi and PNEC were excited to assign Anna Dworakowska from the well-known Polish Initiative Smog Alert Krakow (Krakowski Alarm Smogowy), a major organization dedicated to the fight against air pollution. She highlighted the lack of targeted legislation in the field of air pollution, especially concerning regulations for stoves. Moreover, Ms Dworakowska presented best practices along with useful approaches enabling municipalities to tackle air pollution despite the absence of appropriate legislation, ranging from education measures to the subsidization of efficient boilers and stoves.

Low-emission master planning and urban development

In this session, representatives of the local governments discussed their specific conditions and challenges in regard to urban planning with architect and urban planner Maciej M. Mycielski. The expert presented sustainable, proven and tested approaches to innovative urban planning. On the basis of his presentation, the participants took a closer look at projects such as district revitalization or development of the new commercial zones in their respective towns.

Renewable Energy Development in the City

This session focused on the development and use of renewable energy sources in cities and put special emphasis on success stories from Polish municipalities. Wolfang Degelmann from EnergieVision Frankenwald e.V. and Gierałtowice’s major Joachim Bargiel presented different ways to develop renewable energy sources and exploit their socio-economic benefits in spite of tight municipal budgets. In addition, Marek Józefiak from Polska Zielona Sieć visualized process relevant key factors for the success of renewable energy development in Polish cities.

Climate & Energy managers: Establishing a working structure for low-emission economy in the municipal administration

This session highlighted model examples of the position of climate and energy managers in Polish cities. Among them, Bielsko-Biała with its energy manager Piotr Sołtysek, is deemed a pioneer municipality. The participants presented the structures of their local administrations and discussed the benefits, along with specific challenges and possible solutions necessary to create an energy manager position.

Energy efficiency in buildings

In the following discussion round the participants addressed the issue of energy efficiency in buildings in their municipalities. The focus of discussion with expert Łukasz Polakowski (FEWE) were the portfolios of municipal assets and identification of approaches to energy efficiency measures in all buildings.

Moreover, since representatives of the Polish Environment Ministry and the German Embassy in Warsaw attended the coaching as guest participants and discussion partners, the municipal representatives had the opportunity to exchange on available financing programmes. The final day of the coaching was enriched with the presentation from Saskia Lührs representing IWO (Housing Initiative for Eastern Europe). She elaborated on the recently launched funding programmes for low-emission projects by the German Federal Ministry for Environment since those funds are both interesting and accessible for Polish municipalities.

The coaching aimed at strengthening the municipalities in their further strives towards the development and implementation of concrete projects. To this end, participants were provided with numerous tools and inspiring examples along with feedback reflecting planned and ongoing activities implemented in those municipalities. The coaching was a crucial milestone that will determine the next steps within the project, especially the second round of bilateral meetings with German partner cities.

The inputs of the respective experts are available among other thematically sorted sources in the download section.

 

This project is funded by the German Federal Environment Ministry’s Advisory Assistance Programme (AAP) for environmental protection in the countries of Central and Eastern Europe, the Caucasus and Central Asia and other countries neighbouring the European Union. It is supervised by the German Federal Environment Ministry and by the German Federal Environment Agency. The responsibility for the content of the website lies with the editors.

Coaching

Beim Coaching lernen die polnischen Teilnehmerkommunen des Projekts Methoden und Instrumente kennen, die für die Prozessgestaltung, die Einbindung von Akteuren und die Strategieplanung verfügbar sind. Das Coaching dient dem gezielten Kapazitätsaufbau zur Entwicklung und Durchführung von Niedrigemissionsmaßnahmen in den Kommunen. Dabei steht besonders das interaktive Peer-to-Peer-Lernen im Vordergrund.

 

Am 28. Februar und 1. März 2017 erhielten die 13 polnischen Teilnehmerkommunen die Gelegenheit, ihre eigenen geplanten oder bereits begonnenen Projekte mit ausgewiesenen Experten aus Polen und Deutschland zu diskutieren.

 

In fünf Sitzungen tauschten sich die Teilnehmer zu folgenden Themenschwerpunkten aus:

Die Bekämpfung der Luftverschmutzung

Für eines der drängendsten Probleme in Polen – die Luftverschmutzung in Städten – konnte adelphi Anna Dworakowska gewinnen, die sich in der polenweit bekannten Initiative „Smog Alarm“ (Krakowski Alarm Smogowy) für den Kampf gegen die Luftverschmutzung engagiert. Sie wies besonders auf das Problem vieler Gesetzeslücken hin und stellte in diesem Zug Lösungen zur Luftreinhaltung vor, die Kommunen trotzdem selbständig ergreifen können – von einfachen Bildungsmaßnahmen bis zur Bezuschussung effizienter Heizkessel.

Stadtplanung und -Entwicklung im Hinblick auf die Niedrigemissionswirtschaft

Mit dem Architekten und Stadtplaner Maciej M. Mycielski konnten sich die Kommunen über ihre städtebaulichen Gegebenheiten und besonderen Herausforderungen vor Ort austauschen. Er stellte den Kommunen nachhaltige und bereits in unterschiedlichen Projekten erprobte Ansätze zur innovativen Stadtentwicklung vor. Darauf aufbauend nahmen sie die geplanten Nachhaltigkeitsmaßnahmen vor Ort unter die Lupe.

Entwicklung und Nutzung erneuerbarer Energien in Städten

Die Entwicklung und Nutzung erneuerbarer Energien in Städten, mit besonderem Augenmerk auf Erfolgsgeschichten aus polnischen Kommunen, war Thema einer weiteren Sitzung. Wolfgang Degelmann von EnergieVision Frankenwald e.V. und Joachim Bargiel, Bürgermeister von Gierałtowice präsentierten Möglichkeiten zur Entwicklung erneuerbarer Energien in Kommunen, die auch trotz knapper Gemeindekassen realisierbar sind und den Gemeinden sozio-ökonomische Vorteile bringen können. Marek Józefiak von Polska Zielona Sieć stellte zudem prozessrelevante Erfolgsfaktoren bei der Entwicklung erneuerbarer Energien in Städten und Gemeinden vor.

Klima- und Energiemanager: Auf dem Weg zu Arbeitsstrukturen für die Niedrigemissions-wirtschaft in der öffentlichen Verwaltung

In dieser Sitzung wurden vorbildliche Beispiele aus Polen zu Klima- und Energiemanagement präsentiert, wobei Bielsko-Biała mit ihrem Energiemanager Piotr Sołtysek als Vorreitergemeinde gilt. Die Teilnehmenden stellten hier die jeweilige Struktur ihrer Gemeinden vor und diskutierten die Vorteile, sowie spezifische Herausforderungen und Lösungen bei der Schaffung von Stellen für Energiemanager.

Energieeffizienz in Gebäuden

In einer weiteren Diskussionsrunde beschäftigten sich die Teilnehmenden mit der Energieeffizienz der Gebäude in ihren Gemeinden. Die Besprechung des Portfolios ihrer kommunalen Liegenschaften mit dem Experten Łukasz Polakowski (FEWE) und die Identifikation von Ansatzpunkten für Energieeffizienzmaßnahmen in allen Gebäuden standen dabei im Zentrum.

Den polnischen Kommunen gab das Coaching zudem die Gelegenheit, sich mit Akteuren der nationalen Ebene zu möglichen Förderprogrammen auszutauschen – denn auch Vertreter des polnischen Umweltministeriums und der Deutschen Botschaft in Warschau nahmen als Gasthörer und Diskussionspartner am Coaching teil. Zum Abschluss stellte Saskia Lührs von der Initiative Wohnen in Osteuropa e.V. (IWO) neue Förderprogramme des Bundesumweltministeriums für Niedrigemissionsprojekte vor, die auch für polnische Kommunen zugänglich sind.

Das Coaching soll die Kommunen darin bestärken, den Weg in Richtung konkrete Projektentwicklung und -Umsetzung weiter zu gehen. Dazu wurden ihnen zahlreiche Tools und inspirierende Beispiele an die Hand gegeben. Das Coaching ist ein entscheidender Meilenstein, der maßgeblich in die nächsten Schritte des Projekts prägen soll, besonders die zweite Runde der bilateralen Treffen mit den deutschen Partnergemeinden.

Die Beiträge der jeweiligen Expertinnen und Experten finden Sie neben anderen Quellen nach Themen sortiert in unserem Download-Bereich.

 

Das Projekt wird vom Bundesministerium für Umwelt, Naturschutz, Bau und Reaktorsicherheit (BMUB) mit Mitteln des Beratungshilfeprogramms (BHP) für den Umweltschutz in den Staaten Mittel- und Osteuropas, des Kaukasus und Zentralasiens sowie weiteren an die Europäische Union angrenzenden Staaten gefördert und vom BMUB und dem Umweltbundesamt (UBA) fachlich begleitet.